(a) whether Government is implementing Human Resource Development Programme comprising post graduate teaching and training courses in Bio-technology in the country;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

(c) the names of the existing centres and proposed new centres to be set up;

(d) the number of proposals pending with Government for opening Bio-technological Research Centres in the country;and

(e) the steps being taken by Government to open more such institutions in the country?

Answer given by the minister


(a) Yes, Sir.

(b) Different activities supported by the Department of Biotechnology (DBT) under Human Resource Development programme are:

- Post graduate (M. Sc., M. Tech, M. V. Sc, PG Diplomas) teaching programes.
- DBT-JRF and DBT-Post Doctoral Fellowship programmes
- Short Term Training Courses for the duration of 2-4 weeks to provide hands-on training to the mid-career scientists and young faculty in the teaching institutions.
- Biotech Industrial Training Programme for 6 months` hands-on training in industries for the post-graduate Biotechnology students.
- Refresher courses for the teaching faculty in the colleges / universities for the duration of 4-8 weeks. In addition to these major programmes, other programmes supported by DBT are:

- National / International seminars / symposia / conferences.
- National Science Day Celebrations in R&D / Academic institutions.
- Popular lectures.
- Participation in National / International trade fairs and exhibitions.
- Scholarships and awards.
- Travel support to Scientists/Academicians for attending international conferences in foreign countries.

(c) The list of existing centres where post graduate teaching courses are supported by DBT are given in Annexure -I. These centres are considered on merit based on the expertise and infrastructure facilities available with them. In addition, Department of Biotechnology has established 7 R&D institutions in the country for promoting research in the multidisciplinary area of Biotechnology. These are:

1. National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi.

2. National Centre for Cell Sciences, Pune.

3. National Centre for Plant Genome Research, New Delhi.

4. National Brain Research Centre , Manesar, Gurgaon.

5. Institute of Life Sciences , Bhubaneswar.

6. Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics, Hyderabad.

7 Institute of Bioresources and Sustainable Development, Imphal.

(d) At present no proposal for opening Biotechnological research centres in the country is pending with DBT.

(e) The Department of Biotechnology has a scheme for supporting setting up of biotech facilities and centres of excellence in scientific institutions and universities. Recently the Department of Biotechnology has invited proposals through newspaper advertisement, for setting up of Centres of Excellence in existing institutions, universities etc. in specific thrust areas of Biotechnology.



(AS ON 01.04.2005)

M.Sc. General Biotechnology (2 year Courses)

1. Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi   	15. Tezpur University, Tezpur

2. Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai 16. Gulbarga University, Gulbarga.

3. MS University, Baroda 17. Jammu University, Jammu

4. University of Pune, Pune 18. Gujarat University, Ahmedabad

5. Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 19. Mysore University, Mysore 6. Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai 20. University of Allahabad, Allahabad

7 Indian Instt. of Technology, Roorkee

(formerly Roorkee University) 21. Guru Jambheshwar University, Hisar

8. Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh 22. University of Kashmir, Srinagar

9. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar 23. Kumaun University, Nainital 10. Devi Ahilya Viswavidyalaya, Indore 24. University of North Bengal, Siliguri 11. University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad 25. Lucknow University, Lucknow 12. Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla 26. Utkal University, Bhubneshwar 13. University of Calicut, Calicut 27. Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 14. Banasthali Vidyapeeth, Banasthali, 28. Sri Padmavathi Mahila Visvavidyalayam, Tirupati

(for girls only) 29. Nagpur University, Nagpur 30. Visva-Bharathi, Shantiniketan 31. T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur

M.Sc. Agriculture Biotechnology (2 years)

1. Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat

2. Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore

3. GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar.

4. Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidhalaya, Palampur

5. Indira Gandhi Agricultural Univ. Raipur 6. Marathwada Agricultural University, Parbhani

7 Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubneshwar

8. University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharward

9. Kerala Agricultural University, Thrissur

M. V. Sc (Animal Biotechnology) (2 years)

1. CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar

2. Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur
Master in Medical Biotechnology (2 years)
1. All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
M.Sc. Marine Biotechnology (2 years)

1. Goa University, Goa

2. Annamalai University, Parangipettai
M.Sc. Neurosciences (3/2 Years)

1. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

2. Jiwaji University, Gwalior

3. National Brain Research Center, Gurgaon
M.Sc. Industrial Biotechnology
Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar
M.Tech Biochemical Engineering & Biotechnology
(5 years integrated /4 semesters/2 years course)
1. Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

2. Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi Dual degree (5 year integrated as well as 4 semester courses)

3. Anna University, Chennai

4. University Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai

(formerly UDCT, Mumbai)

5. West Bengal University of Technology, Kolkata 6. Indian Instt. of Technology, Kanpur
M.Tech. Pharmaceutical Biotechnology (2 years)
1. National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research, Mohali Post MD/MS Certificate Course in Medical Biotechnology (1 year)
1. Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow
PG Diploma Course in `Genetic Engineering & Bioprocess Development` after M.Sc.(1 year)
1. M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda
PG Diploma Course in `Molecular & Biochemical Technology` after B.Sc. (1 year)
Sri Venkateshwara College, (University of Delhi), New Delhi

One time grant to strengthen ongoing PG programmes
1. Punjab University, Chandigarh,

2. Punjabi University, Patiala,

3. Tamil Nadu Veterinery & Animal Sciences Univ.,Chennai

4. Venkateshwara University, Tirupati

5. Thapar Instt. of Engineering & Technology, Patiala 6. Kuvempu University, Karnataka

7 Manonmaniam Sundarnar University, Nagercoil

8. Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Anantapur

9. Dr. B.C. Guha Centre for Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology, Kolkata 10. Bangalore University, Bangalore 11. Allahabad Agricultural Institute (Deemed University), Allahabad 12. V.B.S. Purvanchal University, Jaunpur 13. Madras University, Chennai 14. Sambalpur University, Jyotivihar, Burla 15. Fisheries Biotechnology Centre, Dept of Aquaculture, Fisheries College and Research Institute, TNVASU, Thoothukkudi