Financial Assistance to NE States for Technical Institutions

for Ministry of Human Resource Development | Date - 27-08-2010

The All Indian Council for Technical Education (AICTE) has received a total 191 applications during 2009-10 from North-Eastern (NE) States for granting financial assistance to upgrade their technical institutions. The proposals were processed as per laid down procedure. Financial Assistance of Rs.3004.03 lakh were sanctioned to the suitable proposals under various scheme such as Modernization and Removal of Obsolescence (MODROBS), Staff Development Programme (SDP) and Seminar Grant.

Also, under the scheme of Sub-Mission Polytechnics under Coordinated Action for Skill Development, 7 proposals were received from North Eastern States. Out of which financial assistance of Rs.10.00 lakh each has been sanctioned to five polytechnics as per details given below:

(i) Advanced technical Training Centre, Bardang, Sikkim.

(ii) Central for Computers and Communication Technology, South Sikkim Namchi

(iii) Jowai Polytechnic, Ladthalaboth, Jowai, Meghalaya

(iv) Tura Polytechnic, Cherengre, Meghalaya

(v) Government Polytechnic, Kohima, Nagaland.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Smt. D. Purandeswari, in written reply to a question, in the Rajya Sabha today.


(This is an archive of the press release and has not been edited by our staff.)