Andhra Pradesh gets additional foodgrains under SGRY

for Ministry of Rural Development | Date - 13-01-2004

Ministry of Rural Development has released 2,81,000 Metric tonnes of foodgrains (Rice) to the State Government of Andhra Pradesh under the Special Component of the Sampoorna Grameen Rojgar Yojana (SGRY) to be utilised for creation of additional wage employment in the 315 drought affected mandals of 21 districts of the State. These districts are Srikakulam, Vijianagaram, Vishakapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Nellore, Chittoor, Cuddapah, Anantapur, Kurnool, Mahabubnagar, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nizamabad, Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal and Nalgonda.

Special Component of the SGRY provides food security through additional wage employment in the calamity affected rural areas. Under the Special Component only foodgrains are provided free of cost to the States to take up employment oriented works. Cash component for the Scheme is provided by the State Governments either from the State Sector Scheme Centrally Sponsored Scheme.
(Release ID :673)

(This is an archive of the press release and has not been edited by our staff.)