95th Indian Science Congress concluded in Visakhapatnam

for Ministry of Science & Technology | Date - 07-01-2008

The ISRO Chairman, Dr. Madhavan Nair has been elected to preside over the 97th Indian Science Congress in 2010. This was announced by the General President of the 95th ISCA, Prof. R. Ramamurthi after the General Body Meeting held on the concluding day of the 5-day 95th Science Congress in Visakhapatnam. Dr. T. Ramasami, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology is the president-elect for the 96 th Indian Science Congress.

Winding up the 95th Session of the Congress this evening here, Prof. Ramamurthi was all praised the efforts by the Andhra University who helped host the event. He said, the participation of three Noble laureates and participation of 2500 scientific delegates were the highlights of the Congress. Other innovative activities included innovative a special session on 'Vedic Sciences' conducted by Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidya Peeth of Tirupathi, Mahila Kisan Congress—an interactive national virtual congress with the women farmers of remote areas from rural India for the first time as a Public-Private Participation.

Dr. Ramamurthi also announced that 5 national universities namely Punjab University, Nagpur University, Magadh Univeristy, North Eastern Hill University and NIT Surathkal are in the fray for hosting the 96 th ISCA.

The Best Poster Presentation Awards for 2007-08 were given to 24 faculty members, researchers and students. Another 10 ISCA-INFOSYS travel awards to school students were also distributed.

(Release ID :34426)

(This is an archive of the press release and has not been edited by our staff.)